Who are they really: Getting to Know Student Leaders and Journalists

Untitled
Up to 40% off on Casio Watches!

Becoming a leader is not thinking about what other people think of you. It is more on developing your subordinates, and making them step up like what you have did.

-Marie Joy Uy, AB English Language, Cum Laude

AAAA

We see them roaming around the campus. We see them running in haste with all those program materials, steno notebooks and DSLRs in their hands. We see them organizing, covering and hosting campus events. Who are these guys? Well, say hello to your very own campus student leaders and journalists!

I have been in the shoes of these students. Way back in college, I have served my school’s student publication as Senior Writer, Literary Editor and Managing Editor. I did not stopped there, I was also elected as Public Relations Officer and eventually as Secretary of Computer Engineering Department Student Government. (Not to mention, I won also the Vice President candidacy when I was in 5th year but have to give up the position due to I need to focus on my project design/thesis.)

11011965_10204239277129829_739027413718023054_n
My Editorial Page from a back issue of TIP Voice Newsletter

You may ask why did I join these campus orgs, what did I got from joining when I should have just focused on my 5-year study? While I could easily give you answers to that, I know it would be a little bias if it’s just me who’ll give insights about this. So I have decided to seek help from other former student leaders and press by asking them few questions.

Question: Why did you want to be a student leader?

Now a Systems and Network Engineer, Engr. Junko Villarin admitted that at first she didn’t want to be a student leader. She believed that engaging into organizations would just ruin her studies.  She was reckless and rebel. Until one day her parents had a hard time supporting her and her other 3 siblings’ college education. She tried applying as a crew in fast food chain which will give her scholarship, and for academic scholarships but all failed because of not reaching deadlines.

In an instant, things have changed! Jessica Lopez, a student leader in our school, sent a message and said that they are looking for someone for a student government position. She said that she believes in me and she knows that I am responsible. Maybe, it was time for me to give it a try. And here I am. I have become an inspiration to those students who are hopeless and are living a reckless life like I did before, I even had the scholarship I needed. -Engr. Junko Villarin

Untitled

P.S.

Well, I didn’t see that coming. I was in the middle of quoting Junko’s answers when I saw that she has cited me. Yeah, I am that Jessica Lopez she mentioned and I really know she would be a great student leader then. 🙂

Question: What are the benefits of being a student leader?

Engineer Gerald Semifrania who believes being a leader as part of his life shared the benefits he got. He said that aside from tuition fee discounts he got the chance to represent the students and his school in seminars and trainings.

I was sent to Bali in Indonesia to attend a Leadership Symposium, I have met many people and other student leaders, I was exposed to organizing events, meeting other people and many more. – Engr. Semifrania

Untitled

Question: How do you manage your time?

Being a student leader has demands also. When I was in college, after my classes, I can’t go home yet for I have meetings to attend and articles to make and edit. As per experience of Marie Joy Uy, it was her family who she missed a lot during her leadership.

Most of my time during the weekdays were spent for my academics and organizations while I allot my Saturday and Sundays for the extra tasks that I wasn’t able to finish on those days. However, I do not forget to spend a short but quality time with them when I get home around 10 or 11 pm during weekdays. – Marie Joy Uy

uy

If I were to be asked if it is easy to be part of the student publication and department student government, I’ll be honest, it is not. There may be a lot of perks like tuition fee discounts and monthly stipend, but, we can’t get those without maintaining high grades. If you fail a subject, all those perks would be removed from you.

Now, I don’t intend to say all do this, but yes, few people think that we are boastful and over confident. This is the known connotation. According to Engr. Villarin, there may be some for they think they cannot be an effective leader without being over-confident. But she added that over confident leaders who just want to outrun fellow students are those who don’t succeed. For Engr. Semifrania, he believes that some are just being misinterpreted. They [student leaders] should have that confidence because they represent the students to the higher management. And if they aren’t confident, how can they be able to express theirselves?

Lazada Philippines

Question: Comments about those who are passive and don’t notice the projects leaders/press do and the programs they organize?

As a former Managing Editor of a school publication, I know how hard it is producing a newsletter. Sleepless nights, endless bloody editing of articles, asking your professors to be excuse on classes just to cover an event, lay-outing all those news on the allowed number of pages for the paper – those are just some of what we do to come up with a newsletter issue. We are so happy when we already have the outcome. We are excited to release the copies of newspaper we have worked for months for our fellow students. But, what do we get after releasing those copies? In few minutes we will see it in the trash can, lying in the congregating area, or being used as an improvised fan or umbrella. We do not complain about that, yet, we still feel that all those hardships were not being appreciated by some.

Asking Marie Joy Uy about the programs being ignored, this is what she said:

That’s disappointing. After all, the activities are for them. Yes, some don’t really appreciate these activities but what can we do? Perhaps, students should also do their part in continually learning even outside the four corners of the classroom.

Student leaders and journalists are just same as those other students. Though they have different reasons on joining organizations, whether for the scholarship or for expanding network for the future, one thing’s for sure – they want to serve. Engaging on these organizations made them good on time management and made them mature. Being a leader made them better on dealing with great responsibilities.

Participate in the programs your campus leaders organize since these are made for you. Understand that aside from excelling inside your classroom, you should also enjoy. Those newsletters you see lying on the ground? Pick them up! It might have informative articles you are interested. You might have been featured also in one of the news articles written!

me
Blogger’s quick bio.

Like my Facebook Blog Page for blog updates —> Aika Loraine

This blog accepts sponsorship for product, resort and food reviews. Happy also to receive event invitations. Email me at aikaloraineph@gmail.com

1422863316BAP-banner_486x255_OTN

12 thoughts on “Who are they really: Getting to Know Student Leaders and Journalists

  1. ROBERT LEE says:

    As a student leader, let’s put it this way. It is far better to have the experience on leadership and get B/C grades rather than straight As with no leadership skills. In any workplace, no matter which position/profession, leadership is the key to being more successful.

    On the things that needs to be done by those who are involved with school newspaper, for example, the added responsibility already trains students on time management, which unfortunately is not being taught.

    Like

  2. Stella @ Travelerette says:

    I think it’s great that you took the time to interview people and produce a thoughtful article on this subject. Even here in the US people get so caught up in grades that they don’t have time to really experience school. But it’s so important, even when you’re young, to follow your passions. And I’m very impressed that you were able to produce a newsletter! I could have done that when I was in school–too disorganized!

    Like

  3. heidi says:

    I can see only the positives in being part of College Organizations. You must learn so many professional skill that only help when you enter the working population. Making contacts with other students and advisors. Leadership skills and teambuilding are so important in any workforce.

    Like

  4. Eunis De Guzman says:

    I’ve become a student leader during my student life. As a student leader, we earned our experienced through being in that situation. Unlike in a corpo world it’s really a different scenario. Being a leader means being the one they will rely on. In what we called real world, our time management is being enhance by us in what we are going to do first. Position is just a name, we can be a leader eventhough we are in the lowest rank position in a company I really do believed we are the one who influences each other towards a specific result. It is not dependent on title or formal authority.

    Like

  5. Alison says:

    I think having the chance to participate in the school leadership is the best way to learn about real life in a sheltered way. I loved being a part of the school and being a part of the change. It is such a great experience. And it can help you pay for school through scholarships and also opens the door to new opportunities. I always try to take advantage of these times.

    Like

  6. Berlin says:

    From my own experience interviewing student leaders for a leadership camp I managed for four years, most of them decided to be student leaders because they would want to serve. They have their own advocacies they would want to push. Others are aiming for change and would want to bring change. And a number would want to just lead because others believe in them that they have the voice to lead. Whatever their reasons may be, I respect them and I admire them. Too young and yet they are aiming to lead, create and change the school then the community and the country.

    Like

  7. bluedreamer27 says:

    I have never been a student leader especially during my college days but I wish I could turn back those times and give it a shot. I could have shown my fellow students my potential of becoming a good leader and I guess we all have that chance to become a great leader and be a role model to others. All it takes is courage and determination and also the heart and pure intention!

    Like

  8. Ma.Me.Mi.Mommy says:

    That’s one regret I have in college. I was such an introvert that I didn’t join that many orgs and was not really an active member. I do believe now that joining them and actively participating is beneficial and a good training for the future.

    Like

  9. Klaudia says:

    Hm , my school and college time is that long ago , amazing how things have changed . I read very interested your post , you have got so much more possibilities compared to my school days . I think , nobody should let go any opportunity of self-improvement , no matter of school , job or business life . It is good , to experience in time , what taking responsibility means .

    Like

  10. Nina Sogue says:

    Feeling nostalgic because this brought me back to my school days. I wasn’t part of the newsletter group, but my friend was. It was super stressful for her since deadlines are tough. More than service though, I think being part of organizations in school has its perks. They learn to organize, be resilient, and assert themselves. It’s like the trial of what it really is in the real world. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

