Huawei Y3c: The Budget Smartphone

Warning!

I don’t claim to be a tech blogger, because I am too far yet from that. Although I am a computer course grad, a tech blog is still not on my blogging expertise. Hehehe. I only want to share my thoughts now about Huawei Y3c.

I had a chance to try using Huawei Y3c after I agreed to have it as the free phone for my additional Globe Postpaid line. It s the phone that the Globe sales agent offers for the [additional] load tipid plan.

Huawei is a Chinese company producing high end smartphones, and knowing they have now budget smartphones available, it was actually a shock. The Huawei Y3c is being offered for a 300 pesos load tipid plan with no cash out.

phine

 Huawei Y3c Quick Specifications

  • Dimensions: Height 122.6mm Width 63.8mm Depth 10.9mm Weight About 120g
  • Screen Size: 4.0 inch LCD WVGA (480 x 800)
  • Sim: Dual Sim (standard – micro sim )
  • WiFi: YES
  • GPS: GPS/AGPS
  • Internal Memory: 4GB
  • RAM: 512M
  • Card Slot: Up to 32gb
  • Camera: 5MP FF
  • Front Camera: 2MP
  • OS: Android 4.4
  • Processor: Spreadtrum SC8830 1.2 GHz QuadCore
  • Radio: YES
  • Battery: 1730mAh

When I opened the box, it has the usual accessories needed. Among those are the charging port, usb cable and earphones. The warranty card and manual is also there. There are two additional back casings, one is pink and one is blue. I think it is a good point since you’ll have spare back cases just in case your default black case would be damaged.

You can avail a Huawei Y3c at Lazada. Click the image below!

ads3

I have not been using an Android Smartphone for few months now but before settling with an iOS I think I have an android smartphone since 2011 until April of this year, android phones are my “boredom saviors and friends” for a long time. Up to now, I still know which is better, which OS version is the latest, which is fast and which has a good processor.

The Basics

The phone is dual sim, one can be used for a standard sim card and one is for a micro sim. There is a slot for a misco SD. Battery  capacity is 1730mAh which is too low if you are to use your Data Connection for long time. The phone has a 5 mp main camera with flash and  2 mp front facing cam.   Y3c is also sporting Spreadtrum SC8830 1.2 GHz QuadCore, but it can’t be maximize with the phone only having 512 mb memory. What I love about it is that it has a RADIO which latest smartphones and iOS phones don’t have. 

 

test shot | indoor with flash
 
 

The Looks

Y3c is a 4-inch phone and it is easy to hold. Typing using one hand is too easy. I got a black one and there’s nothing special with the physical design of it. It has no proximity sensor but as you can see on the images above, it has a (2mp) front facing camera. By the way, the reason why I accepted this offer is because I decided to give it to my father for his Cherry Mobile E1 (which happens to be my gift for him as well) retired already. Hahaha.

Although the physical design became to be the phone’s downfall, it’s Graphic User Interface is something that I like. Huawei has their own UI which is the EMUI. Well, not to mention that the WVGA display is very good. Colors are not dull.

11924783_1056650077701211_538922479_n
Huawei Y3c UI | Home Screen

11934059_1056650124367873_1934225458_n
Huawei Y3c UI | Applications

11349949_1056650134367872_1229307988_n
Huawei Y3c UI | Notifications Screen
Be mindful that you cannot set the phone to Auto-Brightness.

Lazada Philippines

Messaging

The default messaging application uses Touchpal keyboard. When I checked, themes can be downloaded and there are various free themes available for download. But if you are for a classy design, the default theme will suffice. Contact images also appear.

11992412_1056650084367877_2116727010_n
Huawei Y3c UI | Messages
The Performance

There are few applications already installed in the phone like Facebook and Twitter. Without installing other applications I find the phone a little laggy when you have opened few apps already. When I tried to install Waze application, I cannot set it up. It stuck with the Waze homepage even when I already restarted the phone. However, when I installed Candy Crush game, it is not laggy and my mom was able to enjoy playing the game. The phone has a memory optimizer which can help you to optimize the phone’s performance.

Additional Thoughts

If you are thinkng of buying a smartphone with less than 3,000 budget, I suggest you put Huawei Y3c on your list. With Huawei’s quality phones, you can never go wrong.

Pros:

  • affordable
  • UI design
  • freebies (extra back cases)
  • easy grip
  • camera

Cons:

  • laggy
  • only has 512 mb
  • no auto-brigthness

***************************************************

This blog accepts sponsorship for product, resort and food reviews. Happy also to receive event invitations. Email me at aikaloraineph@gmail.com

nuffnang

Lazada Philippines

One thought on “Huawei Y3c: The Budget Smartphone

Leave a Reply

