New Way to Relax: A Peak to Coloring Books for Adults

Lazada Philippines

When I was a kid, I used to attend birthday parties. And when parties are held at famous fast food chains like McDonalds and Jollibee I would always look for the paper mat with drawings and I’ll bring out my own set of crayons to color them. Children always enjoy coloring, who didn’t?

12064277_10204996171967759_920959433_n

Nowadays, we somewhat associate crayons, colored pens and colored pencils to children. Fountain Pens, sign pens and ball point pens are for the adults. But who would have thought that adults’ once set aside hobby would be awaken with the surprising trend of Coloring Books for Adults.

Coloring Books for Adults is becoming a hit nowadays for being the stress relievers of busy and working adults. International book author and illustrators’ books became instant best sellers like Johanna Bastfords’ Secret Garden and Lacy Mucklow and Angela Porter’s  Color Me Happy.

DEFINING ART THERAPY

Lazada PhilippinesWe all know that Art Therapy is the use of art materials and the creative mind of the person to work on an artwork to express their feelings and emotions guided by a credited art therapist. And those who benefit in art therapy are people who needs it such as people having developmental, medical, social and psychological impairment [citation]. But, according to American Art Therapy Association, while they support the increasing adults who are unleashing their creativity using coloring books, it should not be mistaken to the professional art therapy services. AATA enumerated the benefits of coloring books as:

  1. can reduce stress
  2. can externalize focus and;
  3. can redirect per-occupied minds

I  have my own Creative Minds Coloring Book for Adults. I got it as part of my press kit from my recently attended event-Preciously Precious [blog post here]. Yes, it is free. When I got home, I browsed all the pages and that’s the time I got hooked with it. Creative Minds is published by Precious Pages which you can buy for only 149.75 pesos. It has different templates like Mandalas, animals, florals and other patterns. Before, I used to see colored Mandalas art posted on Facebook. As I search the web what is that trend all about, I then knew that it is a smartphone application with Mandala templates that you can color, that’s when I learned as well that the app is based on the easy flying off the shelves coloring books for adults.

IMG_6677
Just recently, I bought my own 36 Colors Color Pencils so I can start shading templates in my coloring book.

For me, coloring the beautiful patterns is really stress-relieving. It has also made me get away from my dependence on digital world. I started with the elephant with lots of details and my focus was there. I also believe that it has used lots of my creativity on selecting different shades. I was relaxed and became like a child happily coloring my favorite cartoon characters. 🙂 Don’t worry if it gets messed up, it’s okay. Just unleash your creativity and you will feel the sense of relaxation.

IMG_6678
I started with this elephant with small detailed patterns. It’s not yet done in this photo.
lazada logo

**********************************************************

You can still vote for me at Bloggys 2015. Voting ends on September 30.

vote on this link: http://bloggys.ph/nominate-a-blog/

supportme

Being nominated is already an honor.

**********************************************************

  • Follow me on Instagram: @engr.aikaloraine
  • Follow me on Twitter: @aikalopez90
  • Like my Facebook Blog Page: Aika Loraine
  • Find my selected articles at ilovebdj.com

This blog accepts sponsorship for product, resort and food reviews. Happy also to receive event invitations. Email me at aikaloraineph@gmail.com

18 thoughts on “New Way to Relax: A Peak to Coloring Books for Adults

  1. ladyarizelblog says:

    Was so tempted to buy at the National Bookstore booth during the 36th MIBF but it’s so pricey 😥 499pesos yata. I’m going to print free samples available in the internet to try. If I like it I will buy 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kylie says:

    I read an article quite similar to your blog post on the benefits of colouring in. I bought the ‘secret garden’ and tried it. Surprisingly it was similar to meditation, which I do quite regularly!

    Thank you so much for sharing! 🙂

    Like

  3. berlin maynigo says:

    Haha. When I gave birth to my boy, the first few things I bought when allowed to go out was a coloring book. I have two – Japan Secret and Creative Minds (Animals) and until now, I haven’t finished a single page. I thought having a baby is all free time and relaxation. I should really find time, I guess.

    Like

  4. alison says:

    I love coloring as an adult! I have very little creative artist ability but I find so much solace in coloring the pattern. The only problem is that if I make one mistake I want to write off the whole project. Too much perfection and not enough creative! 🙂

    Like

  5. Ivan says:

    Art therapy is indeed of of the best forms of stress-busters out there. I remember when I was in my early 20’s, I used to have a sketch book which I fill with drawings and paintings using water color and oil pastel. Coloring books give people the outlet to release their creativity, without having to think too much about drawing or sketching patterns. These booklets transport us back to the days when we were kids, crayons in hand, and lost in concentration filling patterns with colors.

    Like

  6. Roselle C Toledo says:

    I received two adult coloring books and a set of color pena last September but still haven’t started coloring. Will have to finish yet the paint with numbers I bought from ArtCraze. Art is also my stress reliever 🙂

    Like

  7. Riley says:

    I must admit, that as an artist myself I have hated these things for so damn long. But they are so relaxing and meditative I can understand if it is this format people need.

    Like

  8. Charu says:

    So my sis-in-law gifted me one of these last winters. It is a love story with some beautiful pages to colour. But one day into it I felt I was taking colouring so seriously that I forgot to enjoy. So have been on a long holiday since then

    Like

Leave a Reply

