Taking Gifting to the Next Level

The season of gift-ing has just started.

Christmas is the season people are excited about. When the calendar reaches the “ber” months, it’s already like the start of the listing of gift ideas, the setting up of Christmas decorations and the planning for Christmas parties and events.

credits:roanalcorano.deviantart.com

Long ago, there was a kid who had a “love-hate” relationship with the Yuletide season…

Her mama and papa are not that well-off. There were times during Christmas that she has received only a few while her brother and sisters have lots of gifts to open from their ninongs and ninangs (godfather and godmother). Maybe she was a little “envious” because she was just a kid, then. Kids love gifts, we all know that…

What made this girl sadder is when her ninong who consistently sends her gifts on Christmas passed away too early. No more Barbie dolls, no more cute and lovely clothes, nothing from his ninong…

As she grew older, she started to learn the real essence of Christmas. God sent Jesus to people. God gave the greatest gift He could give. He is not selfish to give His precious one to people… Yes, Christmas is the birth of Jesus. So, she thought, Christmas is not just about receiving gifts, it’s about being happy with the blessings she have, it’s about sending love, it’s about sharing… At that point, she promised to herself that when she is already a big girl, working and earning money – she would share.

The envious kid who later realized the essence of Christmas is now a professional, a Computer Engineering graduate and a woman who works hard.

Yes, the girl is me.   

source: http://life965.fm/2015/10/life-96-5-october-hf-sharing-christmas/

It’s been 3 years after I graduated in college and I worked immediately after. As a daughter who was sent to school by my hardworking parents, all I wanted to do then was to give them payback- give them a part of my salary so I could help on the finances in our house. It has also been 3 years that I started to share also one of the blessings I am receiving during Christmas.  Yes, the Christmas bonus or the 13th month pay.  It’s how I give back to them. At this point, I have listed down some of my gift ideas which are the things I think they need.

SM already launched Merry Christmas 2015  last October 1. I usually go to SM North EDSA and SM Megamall and noticed that the mall was already adorned with Christmas garlands and lights, not too mention left and right brand sales! Last Friday, I went to SM Megamall to canvas and look for ideal and perfect gifts I can send to my loved ones.

Below is my list!

1. My papa just finished his 50km Ultra Laguna to Lucban Run. My initial plan is to give him a running shoes but his brother, my uncle already gave him one so I plan to give my papa a new running shorts.

IMG_7345

2. Mama is comfortable on wearing sandals and I am thinking of buying her again a sandals from SM Parisian.

IMG_7344

3. Bianca (my sister) – She is already in college. A shoulder bag would be great for her which she can use at school or when she has lakad.

4. Pola (my sister)  – she is fond of putting make up so I guess I would give her a set? A wide variety of these can be bought to different cosmetics brand located at SM Department Store.

5. Mico (my brother) –  shirts! I am sure he would like the witty statement shirts from Culture Tees.

6. Budjie – hmmm. My boyfriend badly needs a new bag. He is a drum teacher and brings with him always his little whiteboard so a sling bag that could fit the whiteboard inside would be great!

IMG_7347

7. Mikmik – my cute nephew loves to cuddle. A teddy bear would be perfect. I would buy him a bear from the SM Christmas Bears of Joy. Have you heard about SM Christmas Bears of Joy?

SM’s Merry Christmas 2015 campaign also shares the gift-ing idea which is taking the gifting tradition to the next level by doing it in three ways. Yes! Gift-ing. SM dearly has this program. The three ways according to Jonjon San Agustin, SM Senior Vice President for Maketing are: gifting to family and loved ones; to the community; and to self. With your 200 pesos, you can get a bear from the SM Christmas Bears of Joy, give it to your loved ones, and at the same time be able to donate to various orphanages and charitable institutions that SM supports. How great is that?

How about for me? What do I want this Christmas?

Hmmm… I would like to share first that there was one point in my early 20’s life that I became a too impulsive buyer. maybe because I got deprived of material things when I was young? But luckily, I got over that. Now… Hmmm. It’s Christmas! Why won’t I give myself a treat too after days, months and years of handwork, yes?

I am a bookworm. I love romance. I love fiction. I love non-fiction. I love poems. I love everything! I saw Lang Leav’s new book- Memories. I instantly fell in love with it.

IMG_7349

There is something I really need especially that it’s getting hard for me now to keep up with posting new blog entries. It is an on the go iPad Mini or a tablet! It is something I need so I can post anything I want even I am riding a bus.

credits to the owner of the photo.

Just two gifts for myself? Apparently, that’s the only thing I would wish for this Christmas. As I have mentioned, my tradition has been giving back to my family.

How about  you, how do you plan to give back this Christmas? Whether you give them a present or not, just remember what the real meaning of Christmas – sharing. It doesn’t matter if it’s not a material thing. Just like me, I know I can’t give back to everyone, but it’s the love and thought that matters. Share the good vibes. Share the love.

Merry Christmas, everyone!

For more updates about this year’s “Merry SM Christmas” campaign, visit SM’s official Christmas microsite (https://www.smsupermalls.com/merrysmchristmas2015) and follow its official social media accounts at Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/smsupermalls), Twitter (https://twitter.com/smsupermalls), and Instagram (https://instagram.com/smsupermalls/); and get an insider access to all the fun happenings at SM Supermalls nationwide through Viber (http://chats.viber.com/SMsupermalls). Shoppers can actively share their holiday merriments inside the SM Supermalls by posting their photos on social media and adding the hashtag #MerrySMChristmas2015.

Leave a Reply

